Sat, 08 May 2021

Cubs lead with seven Gold Glove Award nominees

Field Level Media
23 Oct 2020, 07:55 GMT+10

Gold Glove Award nominees were announced Thursday, with the Chicago Cubs leading the list with seven players in contention for the top defensive award handed out to each position in the American and National Leagues.

Among the two teams facing off in the World Series, the Tampa Bay Rays did not have a nominee, while the Los Angeles Dodgers had two: center fielder Cody Bellinger and right fielder Mookie Betts.

Annual winner Nolan Arenado of the Colorado Rockies was nominated again. The third baseman has won the award in all seven of his previous major league seasons.

The Cubs had two pitchers nominated: Kyle Hendricks and Alec Mills. The Chicago White Sox had both of their catchers receive a nod: Yasmani Grandal and James McCann.

Three players are nominated at each position in both leagues, although the American League had four nominees at second base.

AL pitchers: Griffin Canning (Los Angeles Angels), Kenta Maeda (Minnesota Twins), Zach Plesac (Cleveland Indians)

NL pitchers: Max Fried (Atlanta Braves), Hendricks (Cubs), Mills (Cubs)

AL catchers: Grandal (White Sox), McCann (White Sox), Roberto Perez (Indians)

NL catchers: Tucker Barnhart (Cincinnati Reds), Willson Contreras (Cubs), Jacob Stallings (Pittsburgh Pirates)

AL first base: Yuli Gurriel (Houston Astros), Matt Olson (Oakland A's), Evan White (Seattle Mariners)

NL first base: Brandon Belt (San Francisco Giants), Paul Goldschmidt (St. Louis Cardinals), Anthony Rizzo (Cubs)

AL second base: Cesar Hernandez (Indians), Nicky Lopez (Kansas City Royals), Danny Mendick (White Sox), Jonathan Schoop (Detroit Tigers)

NL second base: Adam Frazier (Pirates), Nico Hoerner (Cubs), Kolten Wong (Cardinals)

AL third base: Isiah Kiner-Falefa (Texas Rangers), Yoan Moncada (White Sox), Gio Urshela (New York Yankees)

NL third base: Brian Anderson (Miami Marlins), Arenado (Rockies), Manny Machado (San Diego Padres)

AL shortstop: Carlos Correa (Astros), J.P. Crawford (Mariners), Niko Goodrum (Tigers)

NL shortstops: Javier Baez (Cubs), Miguel Rojas (Marlins), Dansby Swanson (Braves)

AL left field: Alex Gordon (Royals), Lourdes Gurriel Jr. (Toronto Blue Jays), Kyle Tucker (Astros)

NL left field: Shogo Akiyama (Reds), David Peralta (Arizona Diamondbacks), Tyler O'Neill (Cardinals)

AL center field: Byron Buxton (Twins), Ramon Laureano (A's), Luis Robert (White Sox)

NL center field: Ronald Acuna Jr. (Braves), Bellinger (Dodgers), Trent Grisham (Padres)

AL right field: Clint Frazier (Yankees), Joey Gallo (Rangers), Anthony Santander (Baltimore Orioles)

NL right field: Betts (Dodgers), Charlie Blackmon (Rockies), Jason Heyward (Cubs)

Aside from the Rays, teams that did not receive a nomination included the Boston Red Sox, Milwaukee Brewers, New York Mets, Philadelphia Phillies and the Washington Nationals.

--Field Level Media

More New York City News

Access More

Sign up for New York City News

a daily newsletter full of things to discuss over drinks.and the great thing is that it's on the house!